Why we do it!

Here’s an email I received the other day from one of our 2010 travel grant recipients. In the hustle and bustle of administration and fundraising, we sometimes lose track of why we do what we do at Farther Foundation. Here is why we do it. My dedication is renewed every time I hear from one of our students.Photo

I am writing to both update you on my college experience and to express my gratitude. I am currently on my sophomore year’s Spring Break. These past two years at Pomona have been amazing. I have been challenged academically and been forced to stretch myself. I’ll admit there have been moments where I have been terrified I would not be able to do it (here’s to Calculus!) but the satisfaction I get from making it through is great. It is this feeling that motivates me everyday to try something new. Speaking of new things, I have recently been accepted to study abroad at The School for International Training’s Morocco: Multiculturalism and Human Rights program based in Rabat. With little to no knowledge of the Arabic language, I will be jumping in once more into this adventure. I am also helping out an inner city 12 year-old girl by mentoring her and showing her how terrifyingly awesome adventures can be (though she insists that making me learn to swim will be my greatest adventure).

Thank you so much for your support during the Summer of 2010. I know I would not have been able to experience Thailand the same way without your help. I am also grateful you gave me the opportunity to speak at an event about my experience. Your dedication to the Farther Foundation is inspirational and makes me feel good about the future of our world. I’ve recently been reflecting on the concept of choices and what they mean, the disparity of choices some people have the opportunity to make while others don’t and possible ways we can extend real choices to a greater number of people. I’m not sure if that was just me rambling but  I promise it makes sense in my head. You are an individual who is dedicated to maximizing the choices young adults can make in this city. Maybe not everyone will choose to go abroad in their lifetime, but you make that a possible reality for students who never thought it was possible. Thank you for trying to bridge that gap. I can only hope to do the same someday.

Farther Foundation and the students we serve depend on the tax deductible donations from people like you to make these life changing experiences possible. Visit our website to make a donation online and follow our work more closely by subscribing to this blog or liking “Farther Foundation” on Facebook. Thank you for your support.

Farther Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization providing scholarships to low-income students to inspire them to reach their highest aspirations through educational travel experiences.

Go Farther!

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, travel, Youth

Leave a Reply

