Language Immersion and Community Service in Costa Rica

Brittanie in the BandFarther Foundation awarded Brittanie a scholarship to go to Costa Rica this summer and participate in a language immersion and community service program offered by Rustic Pathways. Brittanie leaves tomorrow, and she sent us this note today:

I just want to thank you and all those involved in Farther Foundation. This trip would not be possible without your help and I’m so grateful. I leave on Tuesday and I’m looking forward to coming back a more informed and exposed citizen, ready to make a difference. On behalf of my whole family, we thank you very much.

P.s.: My photos are going to be awesome!”

When we select our scholarship recipients, we look for students that are striving and achieving despite challenging socio-economic circumstances. Brittanie is a great example. She excels at school and actively participates in programs at Evanston Scholars that are helping her to get the most out of her high school experience and prepare for higher education. What tipped the scales in her selection however was her enthusiasm and belief that a foreign travel experience could be a life changing experience. Here is what she told us in her application:

“I chose this program because I want to explore the world, explore the places I’ve only read about online, in real life. To have the real life experience would no doubt change me and the way I think about things. I believe that people who travel think about things more meaningfully. My mom always tells me that you can’t fully understand a person until you walk in their shoes. I cannot fully understand a people, a culture, or a language until I go to that specific place and immerse myself fully in the culture. Nelson Mandela said that “if you talk to a man in a language he understands, it goes to his head, but if you talk to him in his language, it goes to his heart”.”

Have a great experience Brittanie, and we look forward to hearing from you when you return.

Farther Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization providing scholarships to low-income students to inspire them to reach their highest aspirations through educational travel experiences.

Farther Foundation and the students we serve depend on the tax deductible donations from people like you to make these life changing experiences possible. Visit our website to make a donation online.

Follow our work more closely by subscribing to this blog or liking “Farther Foundation” on Facebook. Thank you for your support.

Go Farther!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under eduactional travel grants, scholarships, Service, travel

Leave a Reply

