Farther Foundation class of 2014 scholars

This year, Farther Foundation awarded scholarships to 20 outstanding high school students that will allow them to travel across the country and around the world to challenge themselves with new experiences, foreign environments, academic and physical rigors and opportunities to provide service in needy communities.

For all of these students, this will be the first time they will be away from home and family for any extended time, and if our experience is any guide, this summer will play a major role in shaping their future academic success and life aspirations.

We are pleased to introduce you to the students in our class of 2014 scholars.

Abraham is going on a Gulf Coast, service and cultural exploration program with The Road Less Traveled.

“I refuse to use my differences as a crutch and I am so anxious to fully live my life and explore the world. I live my life without excuses and push myself to be the best person that I can be.”

Chasity is going to Cornell University for a summer learning experience. Chasity Atkins 2015

“I’m trying to go against what statistics have to say about African Americans, women, and even those who grow up in a terrible neighborhood. I have a younger sister who watches my every move. I have to be a leader for her and show that if you work hard and want it bad enough, you’ll get it.”

David will provide service and pursue outdoor adventures in Costa Rica with The Road Less Traveled.

“David is also passionate about anti-bullying movements and has seen firsthand what bullying does to kids. He constantly stands up for those victims but wants to work more in depth on solutions to this growing problem.”

imageDejah will study language in Spain with Greenheart Travel.

“I’ve been learning Spanish in high school. In school, I speak for 55 minutes, five days a week. There are 24 hours in a day and this adds up to not enough time speaking Spanish. I listen to radio stations and even speak with my father, who is learning as well, but I just can’t speak Spanish as I want to. Through this opportunity, I’ll be able to speak Spanish all day and communicate with students, something I don’t ever get here at home.”

Delia will go with AFS to Costa Rica on a cultural exploration and community service trip. Delia Montoya digital photo

“I would use my experience as a way of encouraging others to make positive life changes by sharing my experience as a teaching tool. I hope that everything I learn during my weeks abroad will help me to become more confident, more open minded and more understanding.”

Esei will challenge himself academically with college prep classes at Phillips Exeter Academy.

“I was born and raised in Asmara, Eritrea. Throughout my life I have been struggling with interacting with people. Sometimes we do not notice how life is difficult. It is difficult to act in the right way around someone whom you don’t know. I hope that this experience will teach me how.”

Guadalupe will take a course of study on infectious disease at Brown University.

“I am the type of person that likes to go the extra mile and do more work in order to fully understand the concepts. I think there are a lot more quiet achievers in the world, waiting to go to college to let our true colors come through. While high school is fun, I think there is something even better about to happen in my college classrooms.”

Jacqueline will explore Norway with The Road Less Traveled.

“Did you know that two out of every three teenagers in America suffer from depression? I was one of those two people. I’m getting better, and I’m trying to help those who are in need. I want to use my experiences to show them that although times may be rough, life is beautiful.”

Jennifer will engage in aquatic ecosystem exploration and community service in Bonaire with The Road Less Traveled.

“I love helping and volunteering in my neighborhood and I have had some amazing experiences, and now I would really like to see how other people around the world live, hear their stories, help them, and learn from them.”

Jocelyn will study psychology at Brown University.

“If I get the opportunity to attend, I will take full advantage of the program because it will help prepare me for what is to come. I know I am capable of succeeding and I will put forward my best effort. This opportunity will help me in the long run and will make me proud to be the first college graduate in my family.”

Jonathan will be at Boston University for a writing program.

“Somehow, Jonathan figures out how to go to school, complete his homework, and work several part time jobs to help his family with their landscaping business. I know that he is often physically exhausted and conflicted about all of the people he is trying to “serve,” yet he still manages to come to all Evanston Scholars classes and events, even if they start at 5 am, or end hours after school. Education and improving himself are his top priorities.”

Lesley will be providing community service in Hawaii with The Road Less Traveled.

“I want my hands and body to remember the difference I helped make; not only to a people and an environment, but in myself as well. Life isn’t easy, sometimes people need to be pushed and supported when changing their lives, especially when the experience is new and maybe a little scary.”

Lorena  will also explore Costa Rica with The Road Less Traveled.

“Although I am grateful for how I have developed over the years and believe I am on the right path to becoming a successful adult, I have never traveled far from home and experienced what it is like to live in another country.  I also am considering a major in international studies and working for a service organization, and would love the opportunity to see what it may be like first-hand.”

Milon will be immersed in the language and culture of Spain with AFS.

“I want to enter the medical field and I want to become more efficient with my use of Spanish. As a volunteer at the University of Chicago Medical Center, there are many Spanish speakers I help in the hospital. If I’m able to more efficiently communicate with them, I’ll be better prepared to help their needs.”

Nick will study computer programming  at Brown UniversityNick pre-photo

“Learning more about Linux and programming would be an incredible opportunity for me to explore my passion for computers, and it would allow me to better determine whether or not I want to pursue a career as a software engineer. Already, I have been exploring my android device, which runs on Linux. I have spent numerous hours researching and performing complicated tasks, like installing a new operating system and running scripts. There is honestly no better feeling than working for hours and finally reaching your goal.”

Oli Jacques PictureOli will take classes at Brown University focused on economic development.

“I am sure that I will be receiving an education from some of the most qualified teachers in the country. Moreover, the academic atmosphere at Brown will challenge me in an unprecedented way in my life. I know I will be in a classroom with a diverse group of students who are intellectually curious.”

Rebeca’s program with The Road Less Traveled is focused on service and leadership in Nicaragua and Cost Rica.

“This program will provide me with a Wilderness First Responder certification. I’m currently a sophomore in high school, but I plan on becoming a doctor. I feel this program will help me learn more about my future path.”

Steve will be at Brown University studying science and related policy issues. Steve Picture

“I’d like to make my parents proud, especially my father. He was a brilliant kid in school but his family did not have enough money to pay for his education. He constantly reminds me that school is the key to success in life. His story has been the reason why I work hard and excel in school.”

Tiara will explore issues surrounding women in society at the Eleanor Roosevelt Leadership Center.

“I want to become a stronger leader so that I can give back to my community. I do not want to be like those people that become successful and forget where they came from. I want to share my ideas with people from different parts of the country that could shift the culture in the Gage Park community and high school.”

Winston and Grandmother 2Winston will provide service and explore the culture of Ghana with AFS.

“My first priority is succeeding in the classroom, which requires a healthy balance of hard work and discipline to fulfill my potential.  I work equally hard on being a person of good character. In tough situations, I do not become angry or frustrated. Instead, I keep my focus, ask for help, and work extra hard to achieve my goals.”

Farther Foundation would also like to thank and acknowledge the great schools and partner organizations that referred students to our scholarship program this year: Phoenix Military Academy, North Lawndale College Prep, University of Chicago Collegiate Scholars Program, HighSight, Evanston Scholars, Pritzker College Prep, Link Unlimited, Daniel Murphy Scholarship Fund, Noble Network, Communities In Schools, Fryeburg Academy.

Farther Foundation and the students we serve depend on the tax deductible donations from people like you to make these life changing experiences possible. Visit our website to make a donation online.

Farther Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization providing scholarships to low-income students to inspire them to reach their highest aspirations through educational travel experiences.

Go Farther!

Leave a comment

Filed under eduactional travel grants, scholarships, travel

Leave a Reply

